Existing K-12 Financial Education Requirements

Financial education continues to see unprecedented momentum at the state level. In just the last few years, the number of states with K-12 financial education requirements has more than doubled. These requirements have taken many different forms depending on the state. Below is an overview of the different state requirements.

In 2023, West Virginia HB 3113 , Indiana SB 35, Connecticut SB 1165 , Minnesota HF 2497 , Louisiana HB 103 , Oregon SB 3, Wisconsin AB 109 and Pennsylvania SB 843 all passed through the legislature and were signed by each state’s Governor. This brings the number of states that now have a financial literacy graduation requirement for all students to 25. For more information about developments from 2023, see NEFE’s Legislative Review Report.

States with k-12 requirements

Alabama, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Minnesota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin

Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Texas

Alaska, California, Colorado, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, Wyoming

Back to Top